Magic Tree House Key Stage 2 (Books 9 - 12)

Jack and his younger sister, Annie, are just normal kids. But when they discover a tree house in the woods near their home, something magical happens. Join Jack and Annie as they travel time and space in the Magic Tree House.

This key stage 2 English literature course uses books 9-12 of the ‘Magic Tree House’ series of adventure stories to teach English. 

As well as covering the standard UK English language curriculum, these classes also include STEM teaching (Science, Technology, Engineering, Maths), making the course even more interesting to kids!

Each book is quite short, and students will need to read 2 chapters for each class. This is a great curriculum for kids who enjoy reading, or need to improve their reading.  As well as reading, students have writing and comprehension exercises, whilst also learning about topics such as history and geography.  

Here are a couple of examples of the teaching slides:.

An example of KS2 English course using Magic Tree House books
An example of KS2 English course using Magic Tree House books

On this course we cover reading skills and strategies, as well as the national curriculum KS2 syllabus of grammar, spelling, punctuation and vocabulary. Each class includes preparation and optional homework materials.

Students will need books 9-12 of the ‘Magic Tree House’ series. These books are not expensive – you can often pick these books up for less than £1 from second-hand book dealers.

Note the UK version of the books has a different title to the US version. Either version is fine to use for the course.

Course summary:

24 classes in the course

Each class is 50 minutes long

Homework materials included

Covers KS2 English Language curriculum

English studies and STEM teaching combined course.